The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Mon May 25, 2020 2:25 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Recording issue
PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2020 10:26 pm 
Offline
Dude

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2011 4:09 am
Posts: 18
Favourite food: pizza
Machine type: AW16G
I started out with the Yamaha aw16g and now I am using the aw1600.. I have had this recorder for a few years and have been having a strange issue with it .. I will try and be specific...

I recorded a solo on track 4 and went over certain parts of it , punching in and out at areas I wanted better ... I would play it back and Then continue punching in and out tell I got what I really liked ..
Also I was on one of the virtual tracks were I was doing this complete solo..

So I play it back and all is good , I click the save button and decided to mix down to the stereo track ..
As I am recording on the stereo track, part of my solo disappears and then comes back... still on the stereo track I rewind A bit and hit record .. it’s back ..
Then I try and from the beginning of the song and it’s gone again .. I rewind to before the issue it comes back on ...

What could be the possibility of a recorded track you go over and over to have parts of it disappear...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Recording issue
PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2020 4:37 pm 
Offline
Spaminator Extraordinaire
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:58 pm
Posts: 8394
Favourite food: sushi
Machine type: AW2400
That's a new one on me. Hope someone comes by with an answer.

_________________
GSMUSIC: Hey RZ, Im not no upper class american, the gear I own is what I have special to me. My car sucks, my house sucks, my nieghborhood sucks. Does yours RZ? Does it?

rz-land


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Recording issue
PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2020 6:59 pm 
Offline
Marker Magician
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 4:20 pm
Posts: 3623
Machine type: AW2400
I am very familiar with this issue and it has been discussed on this forum, but never to a definitive answer. It likely has to do with overlapping of the punch in and punch out points. ( Robbie made that suggestion initially if I recall, to give credit where due). It has happened to me on more than one occasion and to others seeking some answers. ??? All is not lost though. I did manage to find a work around but not sure now as it was some years ago. I now purposely avoid heavy duty punch in/out work outs. I will review what I may have said in the past about disappearing tracks.

Off the top I'm thinking, Have you copied ( not moved) the heavily edited track to a new virtual to see if the copy plays back the same way, or exported that track via Transport to another editing platform to see if the exported copy is intact? I will get back to you with what i recall from my search. there is a Merge function in the EDIT menu too, that perhaps could into play. If it does not appear in the list you need to update your OS as this was a fix in an update. It was to make a complete track out of a pieced together (cut paste) track, I think, not your disappearing issue, but worth looking at. The most recent is prob on Docs page of this site. OS 1.13 I think.

More later.

_________________
Byron


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Recording issue
PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2020 7:15 pm 
Offline
Marker Magician
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 4:20 pm
Posts: 3623
Machine type: AW2400
Back again.

Use the search function on this forum to search the word "disappearing", and If you use my name Byron as the author within the search parameters you will be directed to most of the relevant threads on this subject on this forum.

You will find a way to make it work, I am confident.Always frustrating when you think things are going well and then a glitch comes along!!

_________________
Byron


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Recording issue
PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2020 1:32 am 
Offline
Dude

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2011 4:09 am
Posts: 18
Favourite food: pizza
Machine type: AW16G
I think you hit the nail on the head regarding , the issue being the heavy duty punching in and out is causing this glitch

This is actually the first issue I have come across .....I will do the search you recommended and see if there is a way to work around this problem, or just avoid punching in and out too much ..l have never copied the track or moved it ..
Thanks ...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Recording issue
PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2020 3:10 pm 
Offline
Marker Magician
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 4:20 pm
Posts: 3623
Machine type: AW2400
Yes do avoid intensive punch in /out sessions, but do not give up on the use of the punch in utility. this disappearing problem seems to appear only on heavily punched tracks. I still use punch-in a lot. It is very useful for fix ups. When tracks are armed to record, it is impossible to rehearse and monitor the armed track in preparation for recording a take. But if punch in/out is activated you are able to monitor (rehearse) an armed track by pressing only play and then record a performance by engaging play/record when you feel you can get it.Use the Undo if you miss on your attempt. Just dont over do it, especially on side by side sections, which leads to overlapping In/Out points.

Rather than heavily punching in/out over top of previous takes on the same virtual, I now more often do multiple takes on virtuals 1,2,3 ...and then take the time to, with the help of the A/B Repeat points, assemble a track by COPYing sections to v8. In the end it doesn't take much more time as you are not fiddling with setting IN/Out points/rehearsingu/undo etc. Also you get to hear various performances of sections against each other and then making choices based upon the feel as well as correctness. the assembled track can benefit greatly from such approach. When Working in Protools this approach is conveniently achieved using Playlist mode on your track. But In the AW it is a bit more old school copy/paste assembly but worth the effort IMHO. And the disappearing track phenom is not an issue.

If your project is recorded to a click, editing is easier too, as for e.g., a bad note or flub on beats 3&4 of bar ?? can be easily replaced with the same notes found in a different bar. Just copy over top of the bad notes ( just as you would record over top of them with a punch in ). Very clean with no tics or artifacts usually. Even if you are not using a click, a note or short passage can often be fixed this way, but you would rely on time numbers/jog wheel to set parameters of the copy. It is more hit and miss if the tempo has changed within the performance ( and it will without a click!!) When the passage to be fixed is longer ( a whole phrase over several bars) becomes more obviously shorter or longer because of tempo variance. A good reason to use a click on your bed tracks.

Hope you post your song when you get it done!!

_________________
Byron


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group