The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Fri May 26, 2017 9:25 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: SSD in AW1600 works!!
PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2012 12:52 pm 
Offline
Lone Star

Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2012 12:49 pm
Posts: 4
Favourite food: music
Machine type: AW1600
SSD in AW1600 works!!
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I bought a used AW1600 this week and like others I disliked the noise coming from the internal HDD (Seagate). On my search for solutions I found this great forum. My first goal was to replace the HDD and purchased a WD 160Gig but I was not able to get it installed : The display kept telling me "Update incomplete" Switch off.

Of course the ideal solution could be a SSD (no moving parts)
I decided to buy a OCZ Vertex2 60 Gig with a IDE2SATA interface board (like the one shown in another thread). I thought the first thing to do is cloning the original HDD with Acronis and expected that to work....... it didn't (:-(( ooops!

But the AW kindly asked to insert the Updater CD, I did that and guess what? : Within a few seconds the AW1600 was working in absolute silence.... Just install the demo-song and samples and copy my own recordings via the USB interface.... that's it guys!!

I'm soo happy this worked. Hope this helps many others to get rid of the annoying noise.

Ralph (Netherlands)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2012 1:41 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 4981
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
Hoi Ralph,

Welkom bij dit bijzondere clubje mensen. Doe of je thuis bent!

cheers

r

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2012 6:53 pm 
Offline
Welcome to the Forum!

Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 6:41 pm
Posts: 2
Machine type: AW1600
I installed a ssd, too, and it works fine. And noiseless ! Pay attention to which converter to use: you'll need a male IDE to SATA (like a Startech male IDE to SATA). Cheap and simple. It was plug and play.
Thanks Ralph, for the tip.
Klaas. (Netherlands)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2012 7:33 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 4981
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
Hoi Klaas, welkom op dit forum.

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2012 9:16 pm 
Offline
Welcome to the Forum!

Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 6:41 pm
Posts: 2
Machine type: AW1600
Dag Robbie, bedankt voor je welkom. 'k Had niet in de gaten dat hier ook een aantal Dutchies rondzwerven. Nice! Misschien handig voor sommige lastige AW-vragen en tips.

To be specific about the connection between a SATA-ssd and the AW1600: it is a "40 pin male IDE to 2,5in/3,5in SATA converter".
The next thing to consider is how to mount the ssd on the Yammies HD-plate. I drilled a few holes, but I guess you can use double sided adhesive tape between the mounting plate of the ssd and the HD-plate of the AW1600.
Klaas.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 1:46 pm 
Offline
Lone Star

Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2012 12:49 pm
Posts: 4
Favourite food: music
Machine type: AW1600
Hey guys,

Nice to hear others followed this 'path to absolute silence' :lol:

Robbie: Ben je misschien ook bezig met Yamaha Tyrossen??

Klaas: Dutchies vind je overal :roll:

Roel (Coevorden)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 2:27 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 4981
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
Hoi Roel, nee, centjes zijn op :(

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2016 11:03 pm 
Offline
Lone Star
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 10:39 pm
Posts: 3
Favourite food: when I'm hungry
Machine type: AW1600
Hi there,

I also have the OCZ Vertex2 60GB SSD and guess what: when I put in inside the machine and fire it up the process end with this annoying message INCOMPLETE TURN OFF. Before that it asks me for the CD, which I put where it belongs and then I press this and that button etc. it even starts to read the update/OS whatever file on the CD (I've got the files via email from the YAMAHA support) but it doesn't finish. Sadly. Any ideas what I could try next?
I drive a blue car and wear black underpants. Should I go for a black car and blue underpants?

:iroc: :naka:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2016 12:23 am 
Offline
Spaminator Extraordinaire
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:58 pm
Posts: 8068
Favourite food: sushi
Machine type: AW2400
Mark Schweißer wrote:
Hi there,

I also have the OCZ Vertex2 60GB SSD and guess what: when I put in inside the machine and fire it up the process end with this annoying message INCOMPLETE TURN OFF. Before that it asks me for the CD, which I put where it belongs and then I press this and that button etc. it even starts to read the update/OS whatever file on the CD (I've got the files via email from the YAMAHA support) but it doesn't finish. Sadly. Any ideas what I could try next?
I drive a blue car and wear black underpants. Should I go for a black car and blue underpants?

:iroc: :naka:


Black car!

_________________
GSMUSIC: Hey RZ, Im not no upper class american, the gear I own is what I have special to me. My car sucks, my house sucks, my nieghborhood sucks. Does yours RZ? Does it?

rz-land


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 15, 2017 11:28 pm 
Offline
Lone Star
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 10:39 pm
Posts: 3
Favourite food: when I'm hungry
Machine type: AW1600
…so I've got me a black car.
Still having problems with my AW1600 though. Original harddrive starts making strange noises and I found a SSD PATA 64GB harddrive that i was able to put the Yamaha OS on. The AW1600 starts up correctly and seems to be working but: as soon as i record something and want to play it back ist freezes!!! after about 500ms nothing goes. Freeze. Turn off. Also freezes after failed to get into USB mode (drives didn't appear on computer) and trying to get back to normal mode. So I'm still unhappy with the situation. But for quite some time I had the silent machine I was dreaming of and some happy minutes before I tried to record something. Went for some beers.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 16, 2017 9:29 pm 
Offline
Marker Magician
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 4:20 pm
Posts: 3285
Machine type: AW2400
keep at it. ther have been ssd installed successfully.

I have an ssd card in my old ipod (Gen 5) and it works well. good luck.

_________________
Byron


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group